All facilities labels and SDS must be compliant with the new standard, and some deadlines for adoption are as early as June. OSHA has provided some basic guidance of when labeling and SDS requirements must be met by employers. Here is a quick overview:
What you need to do and when:
- Chemical users: continue to update safety sheets. When new ones become available, provide training on the new label elements and update hazard communication programs if new hazards are identified.
- Chemical producers: Review hazard information for all chemicals produced or imported, classify chemicals according to the new classification criteria, and update labels and safety data sheets.
For more information see the OSHA website. INGENIUM’s compliance department can also provide guidance on meeting these important deadlines. Please inquire with your sales representative if you have any questions or concerns.
California Law Effective July 1, 2015
Employers, regardless of business size, will be required to provide paid sick leave for employees who work 30 days or more a year in California as of July 1, 2015. Under the law, the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014, employees can begin using paid sick on their 90th day of employment.
The law has a number of provisions that provide penalties to the employer for retaliation and discrimination against employees using paid sick leave. It also requires extensive communication from the employer to all employees notifying them of the new law and their rights. Additional highlights include:
- Sick pay is accrued at no less than one hour per every 30 hours worked.
- Employees are required to provide “reasonable” advance notice when feasible.
- An employer may cap paid sick leave at 24 hours or 3 days for every year of employment.
- Accrued sick days carry over to the following year of employment.
- Employers are not required to compensate employees for unused sick days upon termination.